/* Google Analytics Code */ /* Google Analytics Code End*/ /* Hide-Show Comments Code */
Can't Miss Slants

Is this a Travel?

The play:

The breakdown:

LeBron’s final dribble occurs at half court, with his left foot down.

His right foot lands near the edge of the Denver Nuggets logo.  He has not “gathered” the ball.

His left foot then falls just above the top of the key.  He has now gathered the ball, making this the “gather step.”

The NBA rulebook does not contain a gather step provision, but everyone knows that a gather step is allowed.

Following the gather of the ball, LeBron takes just two final steps and dunks.

Thus, after the time of his final dribble, LeBron has taken four steps.  If he gathered the ball and took three steps, that would undoubtedly be a travel.  Should it be a travel that he took two gather steps?  Chime in below!!