2014 FYS Honors: Coach of the Year

LKP After Lions Win
+ posts

Yesterday we asked you, the fans, to vote on the 2014 players and executives of the years.  This will be the first of a seven part series highlighting the results, decided by you.  So without further ado we present to you the results for FYS Coach of the Year.

2nd Runner-Up

Jim Caldwell, Detroit Lions (5 votes)

After a disappointing 7-9 season, the Lions decided to move on from former head coach Jim Schwartz and hire Jim Caldwell to help get the most out of a very talented team.  Not only did Caldwell help lead the Lions to an 11-5 season, the most for the franchise since the 1991 season, but also helped steer the Lions defense to the 2nd best unit in the entire NFL.  Lion’s fans every where will be hopeful this coming week that Caldwell will be the answer to snap the Lions 23 year playoff win drought.

1st Runner-Up

Jason Garrett, Dallas Cowboys (6 votes)

After 4 seasons of mediocre play and mostly underachieving, the Dallas Cowboys were able to put it all together and win the NFC East and make the playoffs for the first time since 2009.  Jason Garrett has been an instrumental part in the Cowboy’s success this season.  Garrett’s offensive prowess has lead his team to have not only the NFL’s best rushing attack with running back DeMarco Murray, but also a top flight passing attack lead by quarterback Tony Romo.  Garrett’s ability to get the most out of his team this year earns him recognition for coach of the year.

Coach of the Year

Bruce Arians, Arizona Cardinals (36 votes)

Capturing 36 of the 51 votes for coach of the year, Cardinal’s head coach, Bruce Arians, ran away with the first ever FYS Coach of the Year award.  Undoubtedly, Arians was the most deserving of the award.  Even with starting quarterback Carson Palmer only being available for 6 games this season, the Cardinals were still able to start the season 11-3 with their second string quarterback Drew Stanton having to play 8 games.  Unfortunately the injury bug didn’t stop at their starting quarterback and yet again claimed Stanton, leaving the Cardinal’s with 6th round rookie, Ryan Lindley to finish out the season.  Regardless, winning 11 games in today’s NFL with 3 different quarterbacks is no easy task.  Because of this Arians is without a doubt the NFL’s 2014 Coach of the Year.

Honorable Mention

Bill Belichick, New England Patriots (1 vote), Pete Carroll, Seattle Seahawks (3 votes)